EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Anti-Bullying Info

Harassment, Intimidation, or Bullying (HIB)

"Harassment, intimidation or bullying" means any gesture, any written, verbal or physical act, or any electronic communication, whether it be a single incident or a series of incidents,that is reasonably perceived as being motivated either by any actual or perceived characteristic, such as race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, or a mental, physical or sensory [handicap]disability, or by any other distinguishing characteristic, that takes place on school property, at any school-sponsored function [or],on a school bus, or off school grounds as provided for in section 16 of P.L.2010, CHAPTER 122 , that substantially disrupts or interferes with the orderly operation of the school or the rights of other students and that:

a) a reasonable person should know, under the circumstances, will have the effect of physically or emotionally harming a student or damaging the student's property, or placing a student in reasonable fear of physical or emotional harm to his person or damage to his property; [or]

b) has the effect of insulting or demeaning any student or group of students [in such a way as to cause substantial disruption in, or substantial interference with, the orderly operation of the school]; or

c) creates a hostile educational environment for the student by interfering with a student’s education or by severely or pervasively causing physical or emotional harm to the student.

North Brunswick Board of Education Policy 5512

NJDOE HIB Guidance for Schools

Prevention Programs and Initiatives:

  • PBSIS (Middle School and High School)
  • Character Education (PreK-12)
  • "Week of Respect" Activities
  • "Violence Prevention Week" Activities
  • Counseling Programs
  • Staff Professional Development
  • School Safety Team
District Anti-Bullying Coordinator John Petela jpetela@nbtschools.org 732-289-3029
John Adams Elementary School Ann Kingsley akingsley@nbtschools.org 732-289-3100
Arthur M. Judd Elementary School Dominy Alderman dalderman@nbtschools.org 732-289-3200
Livingston Park Elementary School Denise Wright dwright@nbtschools.org 732-289-3300
Parsons Elementary School Michelle Girgis mgirgis@nbtschools.org 732-289-3400
Linwood Middle School Rick Feltre rfeltre@nbtschools.org 732-289-3600
North Brunswick Township High School Kate Bloemer Gr. 10, 12 kbloemer@nbtschools.org 732-289-3700 x73089
North Brunswick Township High School Rebecca Petronko Gr. 9, 11 rpetronko@nbtschools.org 732-289-3700 x73098

Resources and Reports

HIB District and School Grade Reports